Illinois News Broadcasters Launch Awards

Posted March 1, 2021 by Bill Wheelhouse

After The Associated Press stopped its annual state broadcast awards this year, INBA is launching a limited version with the first set of awards to cover all of 2020 and the first half of 2021.  Here is a copy of a note to stations from INBA President Jenna Dooley:

For many years, the Illinois Associated Press awards have been a highlight of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association conventions. We were notified recently that the AP made the decision to discontinue the Illinois AP contest. The INBA board surveyed stations and there is interest to continue to find a way to celebrate the state’s best reporting in a contest that is competitive, prestigious, and affordable to enter.

We just announced our “save the date” for the awards:

Introducing the Illinois News Broadcasters Association “Crystal Mic” Awards! INBA is excited to launch a prestigious celebration of the best of the best in Illinois reporting.

INBA Crystal Mic Categories: 

  • Station of the Year
  • Newscast of the Year
  • Digital Presentation of the Year
  • Reporter of the Year
  • Weather Operation of the Year (TV Only)

There will be a first place “Crystal Mic” statue and second place plaque awarded in each category.